Council Tax and Benefit online accounts currently unavailable.

Council Tax & benefits online services are currently unavailable until Monday 11th March. Thanks for your patience while we deliver these essential updates.

Term dates

Summer 2025

Schools open Monday 28 April
May day bank holiday Monday 5 May
Schools close Friday 23 May
Half term Monday 26 May 27 to Friday 30 May
Schools open Monday 2 June 
Schools close Monday 21 July
Summer holiday Tuesday 22 July to Friday 29 August


Schools have five extra inset days per year, which the schools themselves choose the dates for. Check your child's school's website for details. 

Schools not run by the city council (such as academies) are free to choose their own term dates, although we encourage all schools to accept the term dates agreed on these pages.