For the latest news about the coronavirus pandemic, including important information on local health advice, available services and more, please follow the link.

For the latest update, click here

Changes to city council cabinet

Published: Friday, 28th August 2020

Changes have been announced to Stoke-on-Trent City Council’s cabinet line-up.

Changes have been announced to Stoke-on-Trent City Council’s cabinet line-up.

The announcement comes as there have also been a number of changes to the political groups on the authority.

Cabinet changes will see council leader Abi Brown have a new deputy leader, councillor Daniel Jellyman. Councillor Ally Simcock is a new addition to the cabinet. Councillors Ann James, former deputy leader, and Joanne Powell-Beckett, former cabinet member for housing, no longer have cabinet positions. The changes mean the number of cabinet members has reduced by one, to seven members, with councillors to be supported by three cabinet support members.


The full cabinet line-up is:

Councillor Abi Brown – Cabinet Member for Corporate Resource, Strategy and Partnerships (Leader of the Council).

Councillor Daniel Jellyman – Cabinet Member for Regeneration, Infrastructure and Heritage (Deputy Leader).

Councillor Dave Evans – Cabinet Member for Children and Young People.

Councillor Janine Bridges – Cabinet Member for Education and Economy.

Councillor Ally Simcock – Cabinet Member for Adult Social Care and Health Care.

Councillor Lorraine Beardmore – Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Public Health.

Councillor Carl Edwards – Cabinet Member for Housing and Environment.


Councillor Sadaqat Maqsoom – Cabinet Support Member, supporting the regeneration, infrastructure and heritage portfolio.

Councillor Jackie Barnes – Cabinet Support Member, to take up her position after annual council on 10 September. She will support the housing and environment portfolio.

Councillor Melanie Baddeley – Cabinet Support Member, supporting the education and economy portfolio.


Councillor Brown said: “I’d like to thank councillors James and Powell-Beckett for their commendable support to the cabinet. The transformation of adult social care and the progress around bringing more and better housing to the city, respectively, are both due to their hard work.

“I would also like to welcome councillor Simcock to the cabinet, and the three support members. We will all continue to work to champion our city, with a strong team to take the city forwards.”

Changes in political groups have been announced today (Friday) which see: Councillor Simcock move from the Labour group to the Conservative group, and councillors Lesley Adams, Shaun Bennett and Janine Bridges move from the City Independents group to the Conservative group.

The city council now has the following membership: Conservatives, 19 councillors; Labour, 14 councillors; City Independents, eight councillors; non-aligned, two councillors.


For all media enquiries only please contact the Communications Department at Stoke-on-Trent City Council on 01782 232671.

Want to receive press releases, council news or job vacancies by email? Sign up for our online alerts at